Jalan Petaling

Jalan Petaling is one of the busiest streets in downtown Kuala Lumpur and one of the earliest to be built in the tin mining town around March 1875. This road leads to the tin mines and was named after the village, Kampung Petaling.

The name of the village and the street originate from the petaling tree. Although officially named as Jalan Petaling, it is more commonly known as Petaling Street which is a popular tourist spot in the city.

Jalan Petaling is known as 茨厂街 (Chee Cheong Kai) in Chinese, meaning tapioca mill street as the prominent Kapitan Cina and businessman Yap Ah Loy used to own a tapioca factory in that area.

In 2003, Petaling Street underwent a major RM11 million facelift when two large Chinese arches to welcome visitors were placed at either end of the street. A green roof cover was constructed, covering the whole road, dubbed the “Green Dragon”. The street is now totally pedestrianised and transformed into a pedestrian shopping mall. The Street is regarded as a heritage site.

Food & Beverage

Jann

Chocha Foodstore

Merchant’s Lane

ANJO

Wildflowers

Kapitan Haus

Da Bao 打包

G-String KL

Small Shifting Space

Pik Wah Bar & Cafe

Bubble Bee Cafe

DayOne DayOne Concept

BYTZ

The Hungry Tapir

Mary Jane KL

Rust KL Cafe & Bar

Botakliquor Bar

PS150

Palmierra 28 Cafe